Twin Rose Software RPG Downloads
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Sorrowblight Fields- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
by Al H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2018 03:52:45

Played this with white box: fantastic medieval adventure game adventures, worked great. I changed all the damage of creatures to 1d6 with a -1 or +1 to some. Only change i made. Great ole skool goblin killing game! Would love to get a print copy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sorrowblight Fields- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to Twin Rose Software RPG Downloads Order

Against the Goblins- A Swords & Wizardry Adventure
by Kevin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2016 23:31:01

The first full-scale module from the designer of the mini-dungeons, this module comes across as a well-thought out and well-detailed adventure with multiple parts. While the adventure's monsters are not greatly original, the chaos element plot is well done and there is a touch of light humor. The adventure affords some flexibility to the DM and the PCs and each of the goblin tribes and the locations they reside in offer a slighly different challenge to the PCs. It is an excellent beginner adventure. Rating 4.5 out of 5



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Against the Goblins- A Swords & Wizardry Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Twin Rose Software RPG Downloads Order

Sorrowblight Fields- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2016 12:18:50

This PDF is 13 pages, with 11 being the content. As stated, suitable for 4-6 adventurers of levels 1-3. Will very likely fit into any 'Ye olde school' D20 system RPG apart from S&W.

Some new monsters to look forward to. Artwork: quite good (B&W and colour).

Players investigate what is devastatng the crops of a farming area. Page 9 gives ideas on continuing the adventure. There's 3 symbols (1 for monsters, treasure, and obstacles), noted on page 1 for any encounters the players face.

Quite a nice little adventure for the price. At £1.05/$1.50, it's well worth obtaining.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sorrowblight Fields- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to Twin Rose Software RPG Downloads Order

The Demon's Gambit- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
by Samuel K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2015 19:52:01

I used this recently as a little drop-in side quest for a city (Greyhawk) campaign I've been running. It worked great, and the price is right. Recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Demon's Gambit- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to Twin Rose Software RPG Downloads Order

Buck-A-Batch: Bonus Potions
by Sylvia R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2015 08:16:28

Buck a Batch Bonus Potions is guaranteed to be useful to every GM. The 10 page PDF file contains 25 new potions which can come in very handy - especially if your PCs need some timely help. I kept finding myself saying "What a good idea..."!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Buck-A-Batch: Bonus Potions
Click to show product description

Add to Twin Rose Software RPG Downloads Order

Mazestone Dungeon- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
by Jeremy Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2014 22:59:08

I liked this quite a bit. It's a bit short, only 7 encounters (plus some prisoners to rescue) and only took about 45 minutes to run it, but then again, it's a mini-dungeon and supposed to be.

Downsides are that it features perhaps too many "save or die" monsters and some of the encounters are behind secret doors (which makes it hard to finish because the PCs aren't guaranteed to find them)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mazestone Dungeon- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to Twin Rose Software RPG Downloads Order

Sorrowblight Fields- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
by Samuel K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2014 22:12:33

A nice mini-dungeon for S&W (or just about any OSR D&D type game, with little to no conversion). Well organized, a few high quality illustrations, and the price is right. Give it a shot!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sorrowblight Fields- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to Twin Rose Software RPG Downloads Order

The Frugal Forge: 101 Magic Weapons [PFRPG]
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2012 05:51:55

This pdf is 22 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1/3 of a page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page back cover, which leaves us with 18 2/3 pages of magic weapons, so let's check these out!

The pdf starts with a short bit of unrelated prose before giving us a whole page of d%-tables and then going into the items:

First of all, we get a lot of weapons with added spell effects thematically fitting with their enchantments and thankfully, exotic weapons like katars and nets also get some, including the electrified net classic. Most of the items are quite solid in their design, albeit somewhat minimalistic, beyond the absolute basic information and perhaps half a line, aficionados of fluff don't get much out of this offering. My absolute favorite, if somewhat strange weapons, were the Jester's Daggers: If you juggle them for a round, you can throw them with a true strike at a foe. However, the description is not clear whether this uses your full BAB or iterative attacks.

Conclusion: Editing and formatting are ok, but not good - I noticed several glitches that forced me to re-read the respective item-entries in order to understand them. Layout adheres to a horizontal 3-column standard and the artworks by Sade, though not my cup of coffee, are ok. The pdf has no bookmarks, though, which is a bummer. While the items in this pdf go beyond simply providing a list of special weapon qualities, a strange feeling never truly left me. The feeling that these items are ABSTRACT. Take a crossbow that once per day can shoot an ally. If the bolt hits, is instead deals no damage, but heals him.

What? Why? Other items use mechanics that change their stats (e.g. a two-bladed sword that changes from +1/+1 wounding to +2/+2 icy burst for 3 rounds after killing a foe) or repositioning yourself or your foes via minor damage and without taking CMB/CMD into account, which is how this kind of stuff is done in Pathfinder. This sense of abstractness forced itself upon me and made me feel rather like I was reading a magic item supermarket pamphlet instead of looking at enchanted, truly magical weapons. And even my Jester's Daggers... why can't one use Perform (Juggle) with them if you get hit and instead have to make a ref-save?

Wait. I got it. Repositioning. Effects that change when foes are killed or hampered. Ring any bells? Yep, 4th edition. I'm not familiar with the designers and whether they have until now exclusively worked for 4th ed., but this pdf feels just a bit wrong to me. Add to that the Wallmart-flair and I'd rather advise you to check out Headless Hydra Games excellent 15 Specific Weapons-series - they offer a more unique flair and feel less like mass-productions. That being said, the low price still makes this an ok, albeit not truly awesome purchase and thus I'll remain with a final verdict of 2.5 stars, rounded up to 3.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Frugal Forge: 101 Magic Weapons [PFRPG]
Click to show product description

Add to Twin Rose Software RPG Downloads Order

The Frugal Forge: 101 Magic Weapons [PFRPG]
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2012 21:19:51

Wow, this is an impressive and creative collection of magic weapons. I cannot wait to get some in the hands of my PCs. They all are well thought out and a very diverse, fitting many different styles of play. No matter if you're a hack and slasher or stab and dasher you'll find some extremely fun weapons in this collection. It's only 2 bucks, can't miss at that price. Love it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Frugal Forge: 101 Magic Weapons [PFRPG]
by Devon K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/01/2012 13:47:54

101 Magic Weapons has weapons that will be useful to many different characters, across many different classes and alignments. Some of them are quite fitting for a character type while others seem to fill a niche that I'm not familiar with. The book is very well laid out and quite attractive. The table of contents at the front of the book is easy to read. This book is a great resource, either for when you're looking for that perfect magic weapon, or searching for ideas that you haven't had, yet. The pages are landscape oriented, so it's very easy to use this book as a reference on the computer.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Buck-A-Batch: Magic Potions 2 (4E)
by Todd B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2011 11:27:05

Technically, looks and reads great. However, the content strikes me as overpowered. That is, the magic items are set at item levels which are too low. This is easily fixed by the DM changing the item level & cost (if the players are allowed to buy these items) or by only having these items found as treasure or received as rewards.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Buck-A-Batch: Magic Potions 2 (4E)
Click to show product description

Add to Twin Rose Software RPG Downloads Order

Buck-A-Batch: Magic Potions (4E)
by Todd B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2011 11:26:41

Technically, looks and reads great. However, the content strikes me as overpowered. That is, the magic items are set at item levels which are too low. This is easily fixed by the DM changing the item level & cost (if the players are allowed to buy these items) or by only having these items found as treasure or received as rewards.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Buck-A-Batch: Magic Potions (4E)
Click to show product description

Add to Twin Rose Software RPG Downloads Order

Buck-A-Batch: Magic Boots 2 (4E)
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/15/2010 22:11:43

This is a handy little supplement for a buck. It has 25 magic pairs of boots for 4E. Many of them allow you to do a nifty movement trick, which is standard for a 4E boots. I particularly like the Charge Dodge Sandals that give you a bonus against charge attacks and a nice little power along with it. You get the list of items, cards to print and give to players, and the cover art. Worth all 100 pennies for sure.

The only issue I have with this particular set of items is they tend to clump around Lvl 8 and Lvl 18-19. Not a ton of epic level items, but that may be the next supplement. I'll be sure and look for it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Buck-A-Batch: Magic Boots 2 (4E)
Click to show product description

Add to Twin Rose Software RPG Downloads Order

Karma Deck – 4th Edition
by Jeff G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/20/2010 19:42:21

I found this product to be AWESOME! It's not often I give a glowing review with no problems, but this product does exactly what it's supposed to do, does it well, and looks good doing it.

In my game I use the Karma deck to show the favor of the gods. If the PCs do something that the gods might reward then I give them a card to use at a time that they choose. It gives them a bit of a boost and solidifies the importance of the influence of the gods in my current campaign.

The cards give the PC a bit of a boost, some extra damage, an extra little ability or defense. Not enough to completely unbalance the game or encounter, but just enough to tip the scales in a single combat just enough.

If I had only one critique is that it does seem a bit pricey for what is essentially a medium sized set of cards.

This will be an integral part of the rest of my campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Karma Deck – 4th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Twin Rose Software RPG Downloads Order

Karma Deck – 4th Edition
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/02/2010 13:04:36

Conceptually, Creation Edge's Karma Deck provides a simple and interesting way to incorporate karma, divine favor, or other boons into D&D 4e. You can hand out "karma cards" as rewards for, well, anything you want. A player can then use a karma card during combat to swing fate to his or her PC's advantage. I've been looking for an additional reward system to add to my campaign for some time. I was thinking about just adding bonus d6s that players could add to any d20 roll, but the Karma Cards provide more variety and therefore seem to present a better option.

The cards' benefits do vary in intensity and usefulness, as befits a random pool. For example, one card provides a healing surge, another provides 5 temporary hit points, and another allows you to redo an unsuccessful attack roll. I did not find any of the effects objectionable (in terms of power level or "swinginess"), but of course any DM who likes most, but not all, of the effects can just leave selected cards out of the deck.

Creation's Edge provides many helpful suggestions for how to assemble and use the deck, but for some reason these come at the end of the PDF rather than at the beginning. The instructions are also formatted on cards, which means that half of the instructions are printed upside-down relative to the other half—so you'll need to print out the instruction page as well as the other cards.

I find this product quite fun, and while I haven't firmly decided whether to incorporate it into my current D&D campaign, I think I probably will. However, I must point out the product's great weakness, its poorly-edited prose. The ratio of grammatical errors and stylistic oddities to word count is annoyingly high. There's no need for me to list all the errors here; suffice it to say that I could not find a single error-free page anywhere in the document. Sometimes, the errors or oddities do affect game mechanics. Most significant are ambiguities like the one on Fortunate Ricochet: "Pick a second target up to 3 squares away"—away from whom? I presume that "away from the original target" is intended, but the card isn't clear. Similarly, some cards increase damage such that "Your die roll is equal to the highest possible die roll result," but what if your damage expression contains more than one die? Again, I presume that the author intended for the card to apply to all dice rolled for that instance of damage-dealing, but the card doesn't actually say that. I'm not sure why the card doesn't just read "your attack deals maximum damage," in keeping with the phrasing used to describe the effects of critical hits (Player's Handbook, p. 276). Other errors don't affect gameplay, but are simply embarrassing, such as the not-infrequent use of "your" where a sentence demands "you're." These grammatical errors will not stop me from using the Karma Deck in my games (though they did bring down the star rating on this review), but they do significantly mar an otherwise well-conceived and well-executed product.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for the great review! On 5/8/10 we posted new files which should correct most if not all of the spelling/grammar mistakes.
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 156 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG